Game Rules for Hearthstone

Rules of the game

Blizzard has not really communicated officially about the rules of the game. However, the duels we watched, the information from the players who had the opportunity to test the game allowed us to gather not information that allows us to better understand how it works. Let’s see that together.

The rules of the game are not yet fixed. Many things can still evolve. For example, starting the game. Blizzard is still testing several options like increasing life to 35 life for the one who lost the draw.

Goal of the game

Reduce the life of your opponent’s hero to zero to win the game. The victory is decided by draw if the lives of the two heroes reach zero in the same attack.

Game Principles

  • After choosing one of the 9 playable classes in the game, players use a deck of 30 cards. It may consist of two copies of a single card. On the other hand, it contains only one legendary card unit. The deck can hold several legendary cards as long as they are different. It must consist of both cards identical to all classes and cards specific to the chosen class.
  • In the first round, players receive 4 cards. They can modify some of them to avoid having big cards impossible to play at the beginning of the game.
  • A draw defines the player who will start the game.
  • You start the game with a mana crystal point. At each turn, you receive an additional mana. The maximum amount of mana crystals collected in the game is 10.
  • Each hero has his own skill that costs him 2 mana crystals.
  • The hero can use his skill each turn.
  • The hero is accompanied by servants in the battle with servant cards. These remain on the battlefield and fight for the hero. They arrive asleep on the game board and start fighting on the next turn. The servant asleep and unable to fight is represented by a “z” on the game board.
  • The servant attacks the opponent up to the number indicated on the yellow gem flanked by a sword at the bottom left of the map.
  • The servant remains on the board or returns to the hand until it is destroyed by the opponent. He is destroyed once his life has reached zero or by some spells.
  • The life of a map is represented by the red gem in the lower right.
  • The servant can have a particular skill. It is then represented by a brilliant icon.
  • The servant can have a subtype (beast, dragon, murloc, pirate, demon) that influences him.
  • The servant has frequent and infrequent skill. The first is not defined on the map as Taunt, Battlecry, etc. It is therefore to know. The second is the one specified on the card.
  • Spell cards have no attack or life value. They are played once and then they are lost.
  • Weapon / Equipment cards have a value of attack and life. The hero uses mana crystals to be able to wear this equipment.
  • When the hero wears equipment, his card loses one point of durability each time the hero strikes.
  • The bottom of the spell card determines the class to which it belongs. Thus: purple is for Warlock, blue-green for Mage, blue for Shaman, black for Thief, dark brown for Warrior, light brown for Druid, white for Priest, green for the Hunter and the rose for the Paladin. The gray background indicates that the card is not dedicated to any class.

Facilities on the game board

  • A button lights up on the game board to indicate that there are no more actions possible.
  • A combat log provides information on the actions that have just taken place.
  • The mana crystal points of your opponent are visible on the game board not with a bar of mana crystals but just the number.


  • There will be pre-built decks by Blizzard. This will allow casual gamers to have fun with HearthStone.
  • When all the cards of a player have been used and the game is not over, a particular card comes into play: the Fatigue card. This allows the player to continue the game. However, on first use, it removes one life point, at the second two health points, and so on until the game is over.